IND vs WI : Ravichandran Ashwin made history by dismissing father after son, becoming the first Indian bowler to do so

IND vs WI : Ravichandran Ashwin made history by dismissing father after son, becoming the first Indian bowler to do so

Ravichandran Ashwin

Ravichandran Ashwin has made a big record in his name by bowling out West Indies opener Tagenarine Chanderpaul in the Dominica Test. Tagenarine Chanderpaul was dismissed for 12 runs off Ravichandran Ashwin. In fact, Ravichandran Ashwin has become the first Indian bowler to dismiss both father and son in the Test format. Earlier in the year 2011, Ravichandran Ashwin dismissed Shivnarine Chandrapaul, father of Tagenarine Chanderpaul. Now he has dismissed Tagenarine Chandrapaul.

Ravichandran Ashwin first Indian bowler

Ravichandran Ashwin is the first Indian bowler to dismiss a father-son duo in the Test format. No Indian bowler has done the feat of dismissing father-son in Test format before. In fact, Tagenarine Chanderpaul’s father Shivnarine Chanderpaul has been a great West Indies player. Shivnarine Chanderpaul has represented West Indies in all three formats namely Test, ODI and T20. Shivnarine Chanderpaul played 164 Test matches for West Indies. While this player represented the Caribbean team in 268 ODIs. Apart from this he also played 22 T20 matches for West Indies.

Shivnarine Chanderpaul’s son Tagenarine Chanderpaul

Talking about Shivnarine Chanderpaul’s son Tagenarine Chanderpaul, he has played 6 Test matches for West Indies so far. However, Tagenarine Chanderpaul has not got a chance to play ODIs and T20s yet. Tagenarine Chanderpaul has scored 453 runs in 6 Tests for West Indies. So far this player has crossed 1 century, 1 double century and 1 half century. Tagenarine Chanderpaul has an average of 45.3 and a strike rate of 42.42 in the Test format. The highest score in the Test format is 207 runs. This player made his Test debut against Australia in the year 2022.

IND vs WI Full Squads


Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ajinkya Rahane, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Srikar Bharat (w), Ishan Kishan, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, Mukesh Kumar, Mohammed Siraj, Jaydev Unadkat

West Indies

Kraigg Brathwaite (c), Jermaine Blackwood, Alick Athanaze, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Joshua Da Silva (w), Rahkeem Cornwall, Jason Holder, Raymon Reifer, Kirk McKenzie, Kemar Roach, Alzarri Joseph, Shannon Gabriel, Jomel Warrican

Amit Darji

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *