Hardik Pandya will make his ODI debut as captain today, will be included in this special list

Hardik Pandya will make his ODI debut as captain today, will be included in this special list

Indian Star Batsman all-rounder Hardik Pandya will captain the ODI team for the first time today in the absence of regular skipper Rohit Sharma. Rohit Sharma is not playing the first ODI against Australia due to the following reasons, so Hardik Pandya is ready to make his debut as a captain. With this, Hardik will become the 27th Indian player to captain in ODI crickets. 26 veteran players have played this role before Hardik. Let us tell you, Mahendra Singh Dhoni holds the record of captaincy in most matches for India, he led the Indian team in 200 ODI matches during his tenure in which 110 matches team India was successful in winning.

India first Odi Match

India played its first ODI Match in 1974 against England. Ajit Wadekar led Team India in that two-match series. Ajit Wadekar became the first captain of India in ODI cricket match. However, in that series, Team India had to face a 0-2 defeat. After these two matches, Srinivasa Venkataraghavan took over the captaincy of the Indian team in the ODI team.

So far 26 players have captained India in ODI cricket, but only two of these captains have won the World Cup title for Team India. all-rounder Kapil Dev did this feat in 1983, while after 28 years, Dhoni won the World Cup for Team India in 2011. Kapil Dev played 74 matches in his tenure as captain in which Team India won 39 times.

List of 26 players Captain

Ajit Wadekar, Srinivasa Venkataraghavan, Bishan Singh Bedi, Sunil Gavaskar, Gundappa Vishwanath, Kapil Dev, Syed Kirmani, Mohinder Amarnath, Ravi Shastri, Dilip Vengsarkar, K Srikanth, Mohammad Azharuddin, Sachin Tendulkar, Ajay Jadeja, Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid, Anil Kumble, Virender Sehwag, MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul

Amit Darji

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *